Competitors of the Beach Handball World Championships Play-Off Stage in Kazan are Decided 19:31, 27.07.2018
Competitors of the Beach Handball World Championships Play-Off Stage in Kazan are Decided
The main round of the World Championships that takes place in Kazan wrapped up today on 27 July. The Lucky Eight of teams that will continue their medal hunt was unveiled based on results of the men's and women's tournaments.

The main game of the day in the men's event was a match between Croatia and Spain in Group I. The reigning World Champion and reigning European Champion continued their winning streak with no fails. However, someone had to let another win, and it was team Spain. The match, as it was expected, turned out to be dramatic, and its outcome was decided in the shootout. Luck favoured the team of Croatia that proved to be stronger - 9-8.
n another match of Group I, IR Iran and Hungary contested the third place. This game was tense as well, and after 3 sets the shootouts decided a victory of Hungarians (5-4).

Group I standings:

1 place - Croatia (10 points)
2 place - Spain (8 points)
3 place - Hungary (6 points)
4 place - IR Iran (4 points)

The rest of the teams of Group I, Uruguay and Vietnam, did not make it to the play-offs.
Sweden lost their first game of the tournament in Group II. They were edged by team Qatar - 0-2 - and let them make it further to the play-off stage.

It was not the luckiest day for team Russia either. The Russian played with an underdog of Group II, Oman, and lost the game in the shootouts - 1-2. Finally, team Brazil gained an upper hand over Denmark. The Vice World Champion clawed a victory in a game against Denmark - 2-1 and proceeded to the quarterfinal.

Group II standings

1 place - Sweden (8 points)
2 place - Russia (6 ponits)
3 place - Brazil (4 points)
4 place - DenmarkQatar (4 points)
5 place - Qataк (4 points)
6 place - Oman (4 points)

The quarter-final pairs are the following:

Croatia - Denmark
Russia - Hungary
Spain - Brazil
Sweden - IR Iran

The quarterfinals will be played on 28 July.

Text: Artem Lisovsky
Photo: IHF/Stéphane Pillaud